The Francis Crick Institute leadership

The Board

The Francis Crick Institute is a registered charity governed by a Board of Trustees. Lord Browne is the independent Chairman of the Board. The Board meets at least four times a year and is responsible for the management of the institute's activities.

The Board of Trustees is made up of representatives from each of the founding partners of the institute, and independent members.

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is led by the Chief Executive, Sir Paul Nurse, who reports to the Board. The Committee is responsible for the strategic oversight and direction of day to day management of the Crick.

Supporting the Chief Executive is the Chief Operating Officer, Dr Sam Barrell. 

Scientific Management Committee

The Science Management Committee is responsible for the scientific leadership of the institute, reporting to the Executive Committee.

Scientific Advisory Board

The role of the Scientific Advisory Board is to advise the Crick's Director on all aspects of the development and implementation of the institute's scientific strategy.