2015 Fellows of the Royal Society

30 April 2015

Congratulations to Frank Uhlmann of the Francis Crick Institute, who became a Fellow of the Royal Society on 30 April 2015.

Royal Society Fellowship is made up of the most eminent scientists, engineers and technologists from the UK and the Commonwealth. Fellows and Foreign Members are elected for life through a peer review process on the basis of excellence in science. There are approximately 1,600 Fellows and Foreign Members, including around 80 Nobel Laureates.

Frank Uhlmann was recognised for his discovery of 'separase', the protease that cleaves the cohesive links between sister chromatids to trigger anaphase, a key contribution to our understanding of the cell cycle. The Royal Society said: "He has made major contributions to our understanding of the mechanisms of sister chromatid cohesion, and their relationship to cell cycle regulation."

Several members of the Crick's partner organisations also joined the prestigious Fellowship, including Jeremy Farrar, Director of the Wellcome Trust, Annette Dolphin, Michael Häusser, David Phillips and Lisa Jardine of UCL (University College London) and Richard Thomas of Imperial College London.

Read more about the new Fellows from the Crick and its partners on the Royal Society's website:

Frank Uhlmann

Jeremy Farrar 

Annette Dolphin

Michael Häusser

David Phillips 

Lisa Jardine

Richard Thomas