Crick Lecture | Caetano Reis e Sousa

Crick Lectures

Crick Lectures are delivered by leading internationally-renowned scientists from the Francis Crick Institute and elsewhere and cover the full spectrum of biomedical research. They aim to be relatively accessible to scientists in all biomedical disciplines, whilst also offering something for the specialist.

The talks are open to scientists from other institutes and universities from across London and beyond. You should have a minimum of graduate-level biological knowledge to attend and fully engage with these talks. Please pre-register if you would like to attend. Find out more

 To share on social please use #cricklectures

For more information about Crick events and exhibitions for the general public please visit our What’s On pages. 

Title: "Necrophagy, coprophagy, DaNGeRous indigestion and immunity to cancer"

Caetano Reis e Sousa obtained a BSc Hons in Biology from Imperial College London, followed by a DPhil in Immunology from the University of Oxford. He subsequently trained as a postdoctoral fellow at the National Institutes of Health, USA, with Ron Germain.

In 1998 he joined the Imperial Cancer Research Fund, later re-named Cancer Research UK London Research Institute, where he headed the Immunobiology Laboratory. His laboratory became part of the Francis Crick Institute in 2015.

He is currently a principal group leader and assistant research director at the Crick and head of the Immunobiology Laboratory. He is also Professor of Immunology in the Department of Medicine at Imperial College London and holds honorary professorships at both University College London (UCL) and King's College London.

Caetano's contributions have been widely recognised and he is included in the list of Highly Cited Researchers (Thomson Reuters) and has won the BD Biosciences Prize of the European Macrophage and Dendritic Cell Society (2002), the Liliane Bettencourt for Life Sciences Award (2008), the Award for Excellence in Basic/Translational Research from the European Society for Clinical Investigation (2011) and the Louis-Jeantet Prize for Medicine (2017).

He is a fellow of the Royal Society (elected 2019), fellow of The Academy of Medical Sciences (elected 2006), a member of the European Molecular Biology Organisation (EMBO; elected 2006) and was made an Officer of the Order of Sant'Iago da Espada by the government of Portugal, his home country, in 2009.